Currently Reading…

I read two really wonderful books this month.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel– I’m not normally into these postapocalyptic type novels and it took me a bit to get into it. But once I did, I could not put it down. Kirsten captured my heart and I found myself with a symphony of emotions about her journey. It left me reflecting on the world I have, and how it might change if a similar world catastrophe occurred.

Wide Open World by John Marshall– Another book I binge read when we were at the lake one weekend. I love travel biographies, especially places I have never visited and likely never will. The “Year of Service” that keeps inspiring the author is also something that speaks to my heart. While I don’t think you need to travel to an animal sanctuary in Costa Rica or an orphanage in India to make a difference, volunteering and serving your community is something that can change your life. It can be amazing to take a step back and simply be grateful for our 1st world blessings.

Other reads this month:

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (incredibly moving, you feel like you are on this very sad journey)

The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker (the truth is- it’s a little tiresome)

The Plague of Unicorns by Yolen (perfect read aloud for my girls)

PS I Still Love You by Han (loved it, but a little mature for my girls right now)

Leave a Reply

