An Honest Norwex Review

I do not sell Norwex. I have been to a handful of parties, and hosted my own. When considering which products to purchase, I wanted more honest, no strings attached reviews and I couldn’t find many online that weren’t connected to someone who sold the product. So I’ll go through what I bought, how we use it, and if I would buy it again.

Norwex Ultra Power Plus (UPP) laundry detergent is good laundry detergent, but it can be great. I was using as powder, and I noticed clumps of detergent that did not dilute and wash out especially on black fabrics. Someone from Norwex might say that I was using too much detergent, and perhaps I was. It’s difficult to get used to using so little detergent to get my clothes clean.

Now I mix a scoop of UPP with water before adding to the washer, and I’ve noticed I don’t see the clumps anymore. (My ratio is 1 scoop to 1-1/2 cups of water, 1/4 cup per load… you might be able to use less depending on your washer, but I have two messy kids and a husband that spends most of his time outdoors. We also wash about 6 loads per week.)

I don’t think UPP is as great at stain fighting, especially if you don’t catch it before the stain has set. I made a super concentrate in a spray bottle that I use for new stains, but continue to use Borax to soak serious stains that I didn’t catch immediately.

At first it bothered me that I didn’t have the “clean” fragrance, but it allows you to customize your fragrance if you truly want one. Sometimes I use the Norwex Odor Eliminator as fabric softener for the more delicate clothes I hang to dry. But mostly I use essential oils as the fragrance in the dryer with dryer balls (Young Living’s Gentle Baby or Joy blends are my favorite for laundry). Recently, I also used UPP along with a capful of Norwex Odor Eliminator for a stinky shoes bath for our family’s Toms, Keens, and other casual stinky shoe collection. Worked like a dream!

Overall, that $26 bag of detergent will last me about 8 months at 6 loads per week. We were using the Tide Pods, full of fillers and softeners that were killing our clothes. At $20 for about 57 pods, it would last me about 2-1/2 months. So I’m saving money, using detergent that’s better for the environment and my clothing, and loving the results. UPP is another Norwex winner.

 

One thought on “An Honest Norwex Review

  1. Pingback: An Honest Norwex Review | sing shout praise home

Leave a Reply

