Currently Reading

March was not a great reading month for me. Work and home life was very busy and most of my free time was spend outside in the sunshine. Plus maybe I didn’t make good choices, because I didn’t love any of these books.

Little Failure: A Memoir, by Gary Shteyngart. It was just okay and really lost momentum as it progressed. I struggled to finish it and looking back, wouldn’t have been disappointed if I didn’t.

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie, by Ayana Mathis. I can’t say I enjoyed this one while reading it, but it occupied my mind for several days after I finished it.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, by Mindy Kaling. There were parts I liked and parts that were really boring. I listened to the audio version.

Flora and Ulysses, by Kate DiCamillo. The girls and I decided to listen to this on the way to school in March. It was cute, and more appealing to my 10 year old. The 6 year old complained and requested more Ramona books at least half of the time, when I started playing it.

The Sharper Your Knife, The Less You Cry, by Kathleen Flinn. I gave up around chapter 6, it was just too whiny. It was the audio version, so perhaps it was just the narrator. I wanted to shout “you are in Paris!!! how bad can it be?” I wrote down the quiche recipe, so maybe it wasn’t a complete waste of time. But this one, by the same author, is very interesting.

Happy Reading, everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

