Currently Reading

April was a much better reading month for me. I read more middle grade and young adult and enjoyed most everything.

The Book Thief, Markus Zusak… It was moving, heart-breaking, uplifting, unforgettable, and really wonderful. I hope this is on the girls’ school reading list, and if it isn’t I might just read it again together with them, when they are older.

The Summer I Turned Pretty, Jenny Han… It was an easy and sweet young adult novel. I prefer a stronger lead character, and I hope Belly gets stronger as the series moves forward. I have the next novel in the series on my list for May.

We Were Liars, E. Lockhart… This young adult novel was beautiful and interesting, and the ending was unexpected. I don’t want to give anything away, but I would highly recommend this one.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, Jesse Andrews... This young adult novel was reminiscent of John Green. It had some funny moments, some serious, and believable dialogue. Maybe just slightly less great than John Green. But I really liked it too.

There Was A Little Girl, Brooke Shields… I listened to the audio version of this one, narrated by Brooke Shields. I was bummed she didn’t cover her relationship with Michael Jackson (she covered so many others!), but I understand the relationship with her mother was central. I thought it was courageous of her to write it out, the good and bad things, and she painted a wonderfully human portrait of her mother. She’s probably had decades of therapy to gain this level of clarity, but she seems to have made her peace with her mother and a peaceful understanding on the impact a parent can give a child, however unintentional.

H is for Hawk, Helen Macdonald… This wasn’t my favorite. In fact, I quit the novel about a quarter of the way through. It just seemed so odd and cold, and I couldn’t get into it. Just not my cup of tea, I guess.

Have you read anything great lately?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

