July Reading

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro. It was a little cheesy and unbelievable, but it was a fun read.

I Was Here by Gayle Forman. This was the complete opposite. So believable, from the way the relationship with her best friend changed through the college transition, to the suspicion and jealousy she feels of the new people she meets along this journey to solve the mystery, and especially the survivor’s guilt that she is in the midst of. I loved this one. It’s one of the best books I’ve read this year.

Shug by Jenny Han. This middle grade novel was lovely and sweet, and I’ll probably recommend this one to my daughter in a year or so.

The Girls by Emma Cline. This one was pretty good too. Socially awkward and starved for attention, this lonely girl gets taken in a direction that is truly scary. I have to admit- I listened to the audio version and skipped over the gruesome description of the murders. I’m just not good with that stuff. It brought vivid clarity to how vulnerable kids can be in those early teen years when the pressure to fit in so strong. The mother in me had a strong reaction to this one.

Have you read anything wonderful lately?

Leave a Reply

