Bringing Fall into the Kitchen

The cooler weather isn’t here quite yet, but it hasn’t stopped me from making some of my fall favorites and looking for inspiration for fall recipes.

This past Saturday, I tried Giada’s Butternut Squash Soup. It was super easy and delicious. Similar but lighter to the Roasted Vegetable Soup I make frequently with potatoes, carrots, and sweet potatoes, and you skip the roasting so it’s much more weeknight friendly.

I also checked out Giada De Laurentiis’ cookbook Happy Cooking from my library and ran across a couple more recipes I want to try with the girls this fall. The book is filled with so many stress-free, balanced and filling recipes that I want to try (hello, Herb-Roasted Turkey Breast, we’ll meet again in November), but these are the ones I want to put on the schedule immediately.

Spiced Kabocha Squash Risotto – I enjoy most risottos but I’ve never tried one with squash before, and I love the idea of kicking it up with cayenne pepper. I frequently season roasted root vegetables with cayenne as a side dish, so I have a feeling I’m going to love this.

Citrus Chile Acorn Squash – I have actually never tried acorn squash, so this will be fun for us. It looks really cool so I think it will be well-received, especially by the kids. I try to make something familiar with new dishes to make it easier to get my “thank you” tastes though.

Bottom line, I’m pretty sure Giada means genius in Italian. You can’t go wrong with any of her books to boost your home library.

Leave a Reply

