Beginning a New Quilt

My great grandmother was an excellent hand-quilter, and I have three of her queen size creations that I count among my greatest treasures. Before I discovered knitting, I tried out several hand crafts, quilting among them, beginning with a (queen-size!) t-shirt quilt out of my college t-shirts. I loved designing and piecing it together, but it languished in a box for several years before I admitted that it wasn’t likely for me to ever hand quilt it into a usable blanket.

I found a local lady that finished it for me, machine quilting it and binding it. I made some mistakes combining fabrics of different weights, and my seaming wasn’t that desirable either, so I know it won’t wear as well over time. I love the result nonetheless and believe it is a great first effort. And now that I have her as a resource, I’d love to create more and improve my technique.

My latest creation will be a pinwheel (or windmill?) design, from a charm square bundle and white fabric. I’ve designed the layout and cut the white supporting squares. I am creating the pinwheel squares by sewing the right sides together and cutting in half to create two spokes of the wheel.

pinwheel-1

Let me know if you have any beginner tips. What are you creating right now?

Leave a Reply

