Katniss

A couple of months ago, my sister texted me this picture of this Katniss-inspired cowl/wrap she saw online, and asked if I could make it for her. I told her sure and booted up Ravelry to find out what I’d signed up for.

Like many fiber artists out there, I tend to knit for recipients who use and take care of my knitted items. But it’s especially hard to resist when someone who appreciates hand-knits requests a special item.

I found several options for her and sent her the photos. Much to my delight, she picked this one. She liked the color shown in the picture but I needed to do some yarn research.

I typically go for yarns that my local shop carries, and for natural fibers. But ultimately I needed too much yarn in any “special” yarns to make this project affordable. So off to JoAnn’s I went (with my coupon, of course) and purchased several skeins of Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick in the Barley shade, that the pattern recommended.

wool ease barley.JPG

I still need to add the braid detail to the cowl to finish it up, but I am overall very pleased with the pattern and the yarn. It’s a piece for layering, but with it being quite bulky, so it’s probably best that it’s not completely wool. She lives in DC, not the Arctic Circle.

district-cowl

 

 

Leave a Reply

