January

My least favorite winter break activity is always putting up Christmas decorations. The house looks so sad and bare when I finish. So this year, to help bring some sunshine and warmth into my January house we are adding more light with candles, more cozy spaces with blankets and yummy smells and making it easy go outside.

I confess that I do not have a green thumb, especially with house plants.  I’ve had more success when I schedule time to water (we water on Wednesday around here). But if the plant needs more or less than a once-a-week water, it will have a short life. I just keep changing them out, especially with the grocery and Trader Joe plants and cut flowers. Some plants actually clean the air, but it pleases me also to add some fresh color to an otherwise dreary January scene.

Once reason I love Christmas décor, is that it’s not just the eyes that are stimulated. Your sense of smell is also heightened with the tree and wreaths made of tree clippings, and all the cooking smells.  We kept some of the greenery, which I give a spray of water (on Wednesdays, of course!).  I also try to bake bread or cookies once or twice a week.

bread

If not baking, I also use my essential oils to warm up the spaces. My daughter decided to mix a little Christmas Spirit with Gentle Baby a few weeks ago and dubbed it Gentle Christmas. We love the soft floral essential oils of Gentle Baby mixed with the sweet, spicy blend of orange, cinnamon, and spruce essential oils in Christmas Spirit.

greenery

To help get through these cold months, we also go outside every moment we can. Sunny days might be few and far between, but we make it a priority to get our vitamin D from sunshine. Keeping our hats, gloves, and scarves in a basket by the door makes it easier to be outside and play with our friends and run around with our dog.

How do you create light and warmth in your home without the Christmas decor? (Or do you leave it up? I was tempted to leave the tree with only lights but changed my mind…)

Leave a Reply

