An Imperfectly Perfect Scarf

I have cast on for so many knitting projects in the past couple of months. Some socks, some gloves, a scarf, but with all the holiday hustle I just couldn’t devote the time to reading a pattern or reading my stitches carefully.

I found these three colors in the sale bin and thought they looked nice and neutral together (I’m slightly wrong). I provisionally cast on with some big needles and knit the first skein of baby pink in moss stitch, when it ran out I added the black pepper one and went with garter, and when it ran out I started with the moss color. I wanted to continue the simple reversible stitch theme so I sketched out a simple knit/purl triangle pattern. It was January by then so I had a little more brain power to help the project. Unfortunately I had to center the repeats so it pulls in and curls a little imperfectly around the edges than the other colors. I used kitchener to pull it together to make it infinity. If I were the frogging type (which obviously I’m not), the moss color would have also looked great in moss stitch.

It’s unique, extra squishy soft and (most importantly) was generous therapy over the holidays.

Yarn: Cascade Yarns, Baby Alpaca Chunky in 601, 587, and 640.*

*This yarn is seriously soft and precious. It sheds a bit like alpaca tends to do, but I am forgiving of that flaw in both yarn and pets. I used US 10-1/2 needles, but would probably size down if I were knitting a more serious shawl or wrap again with this yarn.

Leave a Reply

