December Reading

I’ll just jump in here… I finished all the Harry Potter books and read some good stuff in between too.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. There are times I have to admit that if I were Hermione, I would possibly trip Ron in the hall ALL THE DAY. But this one will be possibly my favorite in the series. It’s hard to pick. I love them growing up.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, not my favorite. I felt frustrated the entire novel at Harry’s behavior. (Side note, that’s when I know I’ve stumbled on something fantastic. I want to jump in the book and be helpful.)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, big heart eyes on this one. But I want more, could it really be over? I may have shed a few tears. And my girls may have seen it. And they haven’t stopped teasing me. Oh well. Being the cool mom is a slippery slope.

The series is honestly like nothing else I’ve ever read. JK Rowling is pretty fantastic for creating these characters and these otherworldly scenes. If you’ve hesitated for years like I have because of the popularity, just do it. It won’t be like the Twilight or Fifty Shades frenzy. You will feel better for finishing this series. And I can’t wait to see the movies. And when Harry Potter and the Cursed Child comes to New York, Lord help me.

Hitman Anders and the Meaning Of It All by Jonas Jonasson, this one was certainly irreverant but was clever and entertaining. I enjoyed the surprises and laughs. I will read more of his fiction, because based on reviews I’ve seen, his other novels are even more entertaining.

Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt, I don’t know if I’d give this one 5 stars, but it was good. I love reading these little teen love journeys.

Still Alice by Lisa Genova. This was beautiful and an excellent window into the dementia and Alzheimer’s experience. We went through this with my grandmother recently, and while hers was not early onset, so many of the situations were similar. It was at times heart-wrenching, and at times brought me so much peace to see it from Alice’s perspective. I think everyone should read this.

Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. It was a little too sentimental for me. Some points were good and I see how it’s still somewhat relevant many decades after she wrote it. I just don’t know if I will ever feel that settled.  Maybe I will reread this one when I’ve truly reached my middle years.

That makes 64 books this year. Over half were kid/teen lit. Harry wins that category, hands down, but I’m also glad I read The Book Thief. Memoirs round up most of the nonfiction I read, and I especially enjoyed Amanda Knox’s and Mimi Alford’s. For adult fiction, my favorites were Still Alice, Lilac Girls, and Station Eleven.

 

Leave a Reply

