Essential Oils for Runners

Training for a half marathon has had it’s ups and downs so far…

I love the energy it is giving me and drive to be healthy all day, especially when I start the day with a run. I’m running 3 times a week, and have worked up to 6 miles so far. But my hips, knees, and ankles are taking a beating.

I’m stretching more and going to yoga, and incorporating some strength exercises for cross training to help. Using my collection of Young Living essential oils has also provided some relief.

To help both my lungs and respiratory system, and to prime my muscles and joints before I run, I use this blend from The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy:

  • 5 drops Young Living Eucalyptus
  • 10 drops Young Living Rosemary
  • 5 drops Young Living Ginger
  • 2 drops Young Living Peppermint

I dilute 3 drops in a quarter size dollop of pure aloe vera gel and rub on my legs and lower back.

After my post-run shower, I use Young Living Cool Azul sports gel on my legs and lower back. It is both invigorating and relaxing when my legs are taxed. (It is packed with 10% pure essential oils per tube!)

And I have to say- stretching helps but I also try not to sit criss-cross-applesauce at my desk chair anymore. It paralyzes my knees after a run! Do you have any advice for managing the beginner runner aches?

cool-azul

Young Living products are not intended to prevent, treat, or cure any disease or condition.

Leave a Reply

